Did you know that sugar is frequently processed through the use of animal ingredients? Bone char is a granular material made from animal bones. Sugar is not natural white but instead brown or off-white. When you are using refined white sugar, that pure white color is often achieved but filtering cane sugar through bone char.
This information is even to keep even non-vegans away from traditional white sugar! Thankfully, there are lots of easily accessible animal friendly sugar options out there. Organic sugar, raw sugar, beet sugar, coconut sugar and brown rice syrup are almost always vegan.
Read more about how to find out if your sugar is vegan in the original article on Logical Harmony!
We'll send you weekly recaps & more!